A life changing experience…

IMG_1860.JPGEncompass has changed my life.

Encompass is a cross-cultural communication week long emersion  with people from the US, UK, Indonesia, Israel and Palestine in Snowdonia, Wales.  Throughout the week we were able to discover ourselves and uncover the boundaries that hold us back.  We engaged in discussions relating to self identity, nationality, ethnicity, culture, gender, privilege and how to bring back what we learn to the community.  These discussions led to deeper conversations about meanings and experiences of life.

I learned a lot about myself throughout this experience.  In the discussions I was able to talk about what was important to me and my own identity and what I believe in.  We created a safe zone where anyone was free to discuss their opinions.  Within myself, I was able to learn about what traits make up who I am and what parts of society I identify with.  It was a way to open up and realize what makes me different than everyone else.

I also gained a new perspective of the world.  I was able to meet people from five different countries with different experiences regarding culture and religion.  It was an eye-opening experience to listen to personal stories of the hardships that others go through.  Everyone in the program was different yet we all had the same goal which is to make the world a better place.

All of us became very close and I consider them some of my good friends.  I met so many good people that have high hopes and dreams to change the world.  We bonded over everything whether it was inside jokes or just things people did.  One of the most unforgettable things about this program was the people.   We did not have any wifi or service which contributed to our deep connections.  We were able to fully immerse ourselves in what we were doing without the distractions of the outside world.  I was at peace in Wales.

022616_Encompass_DSC0765

We also participated in team-building outdoor activities in Snowdonia, Wales.  I have never been to Wales before and was excited to be able to spend the week in the mountains.  Throughout the week I repelled down a mountain, gorging, canoeing and hiked Snowden, the tallest mountain in Snowdonia.  I was able to bond with all my new friends while embracing the beauty of this world.

022616_Encompass_DSC0810This blog post does not do enough justice to what Encompass has done for me.  I do not think I’ll ever be able to fully explain it.  It’s just something that has forever made an impact on me and I am so thankful for getting the opportunity to participate in Encompass: The Journey of Understanding.

Tiffany, USA, JoU February 2016

At Encompass we are striving to work hard to empower young people to not only be, but too make the positive change they hope to see in society. Our work would not be possible without the generous donations of our supporters. Please help us to continue our work to make this world a more cohesive and peaceful place to be, by donating today.

Leave a Reply

